Americans on Holiday, An Introduction

Frankgh

Featured Posts

Greeting from Florida. Not the Miami end or the Disney middle, we are way out west near Pensacola.

I used to be a contractor working in Iraq. After Covid, I had the pleasure of sitting 16 days locked in a hotel room in Dubai for quarantine. Here I discovered David Johns and Cruising the Cut. I feel in love with the idea of cruising the canals. To make life even better, when I returned home and showed my discovery to my wife, she was as enthusiastic as I. We have watch every one of his Vlogs (but skipped the "Not-a-Vlog). Some other favorites are "Chugging Along" and "MinimalList"

Our long term dream would be after I retire in a few years, to buy a boat and cruise it for the 6 months a visa would allow us to stay in England, then sell it. We are not waiting that long for our first experience!

We have booked a 2 week holiday with Cafwin Cruises on Arthur Owl out of Droitwich Marina starting the last week of April. Why April?

A. The boat was not booked yet for that time.

2. I'm hoping to avoid the busier times.

Why Cafwin Cruises?

1. The boat looks AMAZING!

B. It has the largest bed of any hire boat I looked at!

Number C. Catherine has been greatly helpful and is a Vet. (My wife and I are too!)

We don't have a lot of interest in urban cruising in Birmingham so have planed to do the Anti-Clockwise Avon Ring. If the River Severn doesn't want to cooperate I think we will head up to King's Norton Junction and head east toward the Hatton Flight to wherever day 6 or 7 brings us, turn around have head back to Droitwich. The plan is figured on about 5 hours cruising a day. That should make for some stress free boating.

The idea of Vloging the trip is attractive but I would do all the post production after I get home. You'll just have to wait to see how our trip went!