Why did you choose your layout ...

phillarrow

Featured Posts

...and what, if anything, do you wish you had that you haven't got?

So, I'm guessing that whether you had a boat built, bought a stock boat, or bought second hand, the layout was a pretty big factor in your choice. To that end ( and for the benefit of a total newbie doing research) what layout do you have and what, in your opinion, are the benefits and drawbacks of it?

Also, if you could change/add/remove just one thing about your layout, what would it be?

Cheers, Phill

Stem to Stern. Large saloon. Bathroom. Fitted bed. Dining area. Galley. Rear door to cruiser stern.

if! We fall out with one another we go to either end. Then meet up again mid-ships.(funnily enough that’s where the bedroom is!!

In reality this has never happened.  I guess we have been married too long for all this romantic stuff.

The layout just suits us.

• Happy 1

I got the layout I wanted cabin wise, but a very long L shaped dinette wasted space so I did cut it down, turn it into a U shaped dinette and had space for a cupboard just in front of it. by making one corner of the front leg of the U angled, I could get another small cupboard on the other side of the door.

After some years I took the hire boat single beds out of the back cabin, turned the airing cupboard/boiler cupboard through 90 degrees so it now sits along the back bulkhead. Installed a stove, and, again by building the door at an angle, fitted a broom/cleaning cupboard on the other side of the back door. I got a pair of bed chairs for this are that could have their arms removed and be bolted together to form a double bed or left as two singles.

Typical hire boat - saloon with dinette, kitchen, double bedroom, bathroom and rear bedroom/sitting room.

4 minutes ago, Nightwatch said:

if! We fall out with one another we go to either end.