45 x10 Widebeam, total electric retrofit is it possible?

Thingi

Featured Posts

Hello all, I'm a complete noob so please be gentle. 

I want to purchase a 45 x 10 widebeam and convert it fully to electric Propulsion, Heating & Cooking as a live-aboard. I plan on having around 3600kW of Solar and approximately 48 kW of battery (commercial offering) or preferably 60 kW (DIY Setup).

From my calculations that would generate roughly 3 kWh per day in the depths of winter compared to 16.8kWh at the height of summer. I don't have a plans for a permanent mooring, instead ideally I'd like to be able to charge up at a marina when required in winter then get back on my way. The question is how much power draw can be achieved on most moorings with a hookup, do high power draw moorings even exist?

Ideally I'd like to use two Nissan Leaf batteries (new, not 2nd hand) like this chaps setup on YouTube:- 

Mainly due to the commercial offerings seeming to be rather steep for what is essentially just a few panels, a battery pack, an invertor and electric motor especially when considering prices of essentially the same kit sold for other uses other than canalboats.

However I am also interested in commercial 'off the shelf solutions, I have about 30K for the conversion. 

So the question is am I completely mad and this is just a pipedream, or is it possible? Does anyone on the forum own a completely electric boat and can recommend a good supplier who will do the retrofit?

Edited by Thingi

2 hours ago, Thingi said:

From my calculations that would generate roughly 3 kWh per day in the depths of winter

I think you are being totally unrealistic - fine on a nice dry cloudless winters day, but when you get a week of rain & snow, low cloud and low temperatures how will you power / heat / light your boat.

Somehow you will need to replace every Ah used and Solar will not do it.