My toaster doesn’t like my generator

jenevers

Featured Posts

I have a 6 K Mastervolt Genny, which powers my 80A battery charger, when running. But my toaster elements don’t glow as red as they do when I switch the charger off. How come? I’m getting 234v from the inverter output. I know some washing imachines don’t like some generators but surely a toaster shouldn’t be affected.

2 minutes ago, jenevers said:

I have a 6 K Mastervolt Genny, which powers my 80A battery charger, when running. But my toaster elements don’t glow as red as they do when I switch the charger off. How come? I’m getting 234v from the inverter output. I know some washing imachines don’t like some generators but surely a toaster shouldn’t be affected.

Voltage drop down the mains lead?

80A at 12V will be around 5A. Add the toaster load and if the wiring is 1.5mm then you’ll be dropping a fair bit. 2.5mm is better. Better still would be for the charger to be on its own spur direct from the CU. 

2 hours ago, WotEver said:

Voltage drop down the mains lead?

80A at 12V will be around 5A. Add the toaster load and if the wiring is 1.5mm then you’ll be dropping a fair bit. 2.5mm is better. Better still would be for the charger to be on its own spur direct from the CU. 

CU?

the wiring is big. I’m not aboard at the moment but I know the cabling is at least 5 mm in diameter.

34 minutes ago, jenevers said:

CU?

the wiring is big. I’m not aboard at the moment but I know the cabling is at least 5 mm in diameter.

The outside diameter of 2.5mm2 arctic cable (the blue stuff often used by boaters) is about 11mm.  So yours at “at least 5mm diameter” sounds thin.  Even 1.5mm2 artic cable is about 9mm diameter.  So I have no idea what you could be using.

added - just had a look online and 0.75mm2 cable is about 6.5mm diameter.  This is rated at 6A max.

Edited by Chewbacka