To thrust or not to thrust

Artimis

Featured Posts

Im approaching the decision point for installation of a bow thruster tube

Do I or dont I?

Someone said a thruster is a get out of jail free card for those who arnt much good at boat handling.

Yeah, thats me. Im a novice, and a wide beam is more draft than a NB, so is going to catch the current even worse, especially on rivers.

Do I need to factor it in or not?

Do I or dont I?

Someone said a thruster is a get out of jail free card for those who arnt much good at boat handling.

Yeah, thats me. Im a novice, and a wide beam is more draft than a NB, so is going to catch the current even worse, especially on rivers.

Yes, its very very useful! at the press of a button one can turn on the centre pivot of the boat...however I do intend to practise doing without it because I know it could fail when I need it in an emergency, so I don't intend to rely on it.....

If the boat you are having built is an oil tanker, a cruise liner or a large car ferry then go for it, otherwise don't bother. Boats managed to navigate the canals for 200+ years without them so there's no reason your boat can't do so quite happily as well.

(Please remember to let us know when you get to the point of considering what type of toilet to fit and wondering about your council tax liabilty. :lol: )

...............and a wide beam is more draft than a NB...........

?????

Only if you design it to be (or ballast it to be) surely ?

Generally there is more buoyancy for the total weight in a WB, and naturally I'd say most would have less draught if unballasted.

I can't see why you would deliberately choose to put a modern leisure WB lower in the water than it's skinnier cousin ?

?????

Only if you design it to be (or ballast it to be) surely ?

Generally there is more buoyancy for the total weight in a WB, and naturally I'd say most would have less draught if unballasted.