Gas free boat

Andyaero

Featured Posts

So, how feasible is a gas free boat? 

I'm a beginner, beginning the process of a new build. I fancy the idea of gas free, basically to have one less energy cost on board and extra storage. If gas would only be used for cooking, can an old skool 42hp diesel powered boat run gas free with electric cooking, induction hob?

Thinking out loud, I'd be a continual cruiser with a minimum 1.2kW solar and either lithium or lead carbon batteries (opinions and a suggested minimum Ah?), would this require a 3kW or 5kW inverter? Size of alternators? 

Be gentle.

Cheers

7 minutes ago, Andyaero said:

Lots of boats are, but as usual massive compromises are necessary. A diesel hob, no oven cooking. Some people (like me) use their oven every day. Others, never. No grill either. How will you cook your gourmet kippers for breakfast?

If you only ever cook on a hob then yes, a whopper of an inverter and a mahoosive (technical term) battery bank will do the trick. But as always, the thing people overlook is how they will put the equally huge amounts of energy the hob takes BACK INTO the battery bank, whatever the chemistry. How will YOU do it?

Edited by MtB
  • Greenie 1

Thanks, maybe I should have asked.....

Is fully electric cooking, feasible on a diesel powered boat? 

I guess I'd replace the energy used by the fact I'd be continually cruising and using a lot of the traditional directional solar panels (not the pretty flexi things) and using batteries that let me use 80% capacity. I accept this isn't a year round solution. Alternatives....run the engine or sit on shore power for a couple of months?