Are bow thrusters worth the money ?

jimsimmo

Featured Posts

Hi there !

I have just placed a deposit on a build of a part fitted wide beam that I intend to live aboard. My budget is tight and I am trying to save money in any way I can. My ideal size of boat would be 55' x 12' but at the moment I cannot quite stretch to that size but can just afford a 50' x 12'. The cost of having a bow thruster fitted is £2700. Having only been on much smaller boats I have no experience of bow thrusters. Are they a necessity or a luxury on a boat this size ? The saving made by not having one could buy an extra 5' x 12' of living space.

Thank you in advance for any advice on this subject and for answers to many more questions that I am sure I will be posting in the near future.

Jim

Jim

Welcome to the forum.

For a bow thruster to be effective it needs to be powerful (HP/Kw) and preferably hydraulically driven, even more so for a widebeam.

I would check just what the £2,700 is going to get you.

I know I have a narrow boat, so cannot really advise whether one is needed on a wide beam but my builder said do you want a bow thruster that you will only use once in a blue moon or the £3,000 spent on the inside of the boat..

I said this on another thread so apologies for repeating:

In all the years I have boated and the last three CCing I have never been in a situation where a bow thruster would have made a difference.

Are bow thrusters worth the money ?

No

ed to add

- welcome to the forum - I didn't properly clock it was your first post.

Edited by MJG

Hi there !