Batteries

Richard X

Featured Posts

Hi everyone,

I'm about to have a widebeam Eurocruiser built by Collingwood and wanted to know anyones thought's on batteries, they're going to fit 3 x 110amp batteries and Iv'e been told to upgrade to 4 x 145amp by another boater.

I'm new to boating and learning all the time so Just wanted to know what anyone else thinks about batteries and amps.

Cheers, Richard.

It totally depends on what you expect to get out of the batteries, the intended charging method and pattern. So you'll need to tell us what power-consuming equipment you'll have, and how you will use the boat (in a marina, for holiday use, to live aboard continuous cruising etc) and how you will be charging the batteries.

But generally I think that for a modern boat with plenty of room, 4x110 12v batteries would be the sensible minimum, especially if you intend to have a decent sized inverter.

Edited by nicknorman

Although WotEver's post may appear rather cryptic unless you already have some knowledge about boats he is correct. The easiest thing to ruin in very short order on a boat are its batteries so unless you do the groundwork and planning first you could destroy hundreds of pounds worth of batteries.

You need to work out the optimum mix of: battery charging, electricity (current consumption) and battery bank size for YOUR Boat and YOUR use of it.

Putting in too many batteries and you will be wasting money. Putting in too few or not charging enough will ruin them in weeks of not days and constant flat batteries.

The power audit where you list all your electrical equipment, how much it consumes, and how long it is used for each day will guide you to the optimum bank size.

From that result you can work out the charging requirements and how long you need to run the particular charging method for.