Help/Guidance stripped boat starting from scratch for residential liveaboard

georgeedwards

Featured Posts

HI there,

i'm new to boating, and considering a purchase of a completely stripped back empty boat. It has walls, windows an engine and gas hookup. But nothing for living purposes.

It is a 36' springer.

I would like to install a shower, kitchen area, wood burner and toilet on board. Along with all the thing that this requires, such as a boiler, pipes, pumps etc. the basics for a residential liveaborad.

I am looking for any tips or guidance on a job like this from those of you who have expereince. So that i can get an idea as to what i am letting myself into.

key questions are:

On a tight budget, how much i am looking to spend?

All things aside such as personal touches and detail quality, how long will it take to install all the equipment?

Anything else that I am overlooking that should be considered before taking the plunge and buying the boat?

Thanks for your Help!boat.gif

I am looking for any tips or guidance on a job like this from those of you who have expereince. So that i can get an idea as to what i am letting myself into.

key questions are:

Welcome to the forum George.

Being brutal, unless the owner of this boat is paying you to take ownership, you'll be better off financially if you spend your 'tight budget' on an old but complete Springer.

Cost of the materials to install everything on your list, plus the equally long list of expenses you'll need pay out but haven't thought of yet, probably runs to about £15k, and there are plenty of perfectly good, complete, 36ft Springers out there for less than this.

Never mind the time and effort of doing the refit.

On the other hand if you want a project and you have the time to spend on it, you'll end up with a boat with an all-new interior that you know from end to end, and you'll be able to drip-feed the money into the project over the months or year it might take.