Narrowboat front roof scraping guards ?

GreyLady

Featured Posts

Forgive me asking this daft question but over the last week or so I've been thinking about a tunnel we might end up having to do as complete beginners, I thought about bonding 10" of this stuff to the front cabin/roof with Sikraflex hoping it would prevent steel damage.

Is this a daft idea or do I need to Chillax and stop worrying obsessively about stuff ?

post-24819-0-58291400-1458340573_thumb.jpg

Edited by GreyLady

Which tunnel?

Harecastle.

But anyway, the tunnel is unlike to damage the steel, only the paint. Sticking stuff on with sikaflex is also likely to damage the paint so I wouldn't bother. If the worst happens a small pot of touch up paint will sort it.

Which tunnel?

Harecastle, it's not just the tunnel as new boaters I guess we're going to get it wrong as part as learning.

We don't want to scuff a 85k boat, it's not my boat it's my dad's but to be honest if it was a 10k boat I bought I would still be worried proper.

Harecastle.

But anyway, the tunnel is unlike to damage the steel, only the paint. Sticking stuff on with sikaflex is also likely to damage the paint so I wouldn't bother. If the worst happens a small pot of touch up paint will sort it.

Nick thanks, am an overthinker!

Edited by GreyLady

Plastic stuck on it will look worse than touched up paint IF you do happen to catch it, which you probably wont. If you do you will probably rip through the plastic anyway.

Thanks.

I guess I better get me spray gun out if we scratch it..

Me and dad went for an 8 mile walk to walk off the pre survey over thinking off.

I reckon we should of done 16 miles.

Forgive me asking this daft question but over the last week or so I've been thinking about a tunnel we might end up having to do as complete beginners, I thought about bonding 10" of this stuff to the front cabin/roof with Sikraflex hoping it would prevent steel damage.