Dudley Tunnel.

OptedOut

Featured Posts

Over the last 18 months I have tried to get some info on the cruising restrictions applied to the Dudley tunnel.

Despite several requests BW have failed to supply a survey under the FoI act, also they state the canal trust are responsible for the safety and operation of the tunnel.

The canal trust are not too helpful with their attitude to safety plus the restrictive test gauge.

Am I just paranoid or is there some sort of collusion between various parties to make access difficult?

Hi

I'm by no means an expert on Dudley tunnel, tho' I've navigated it several times since the early 60s. I don't think anyone is being needlessly obstructive - the headroom is extremely low in places and the confined nature would render a powered passage unsafe. Last w/end I took Resolute thro' Gosty Hill tunnel, not far away. It's not dissimilar to Dudley with regard to headroom (variable) and width. The 500 yds took around 20 mins at a snail's pace...I would hate to do the 3172 yards of Dudley under my own power, assuming that I could clear the height gauges, which is doubtful. The Trust have decades of operating experience and are right, IMHO, to offer only towed passage to qualifying boats.

Cheers

Dave

When i moored outside the tunnel, the trust members were helpful and happy for us to have a go, although we would not have got through the gauge without dismantling the cratch and stands and probably then we would have had to take on ballast as well.

In the end we went on the tunnel trip and, because of the quiet it was very atmospheric.

I am not sure if diesel is allowed in there anyway (i don't think it is) so it would be a legging job. I had a go at legging the tunnel boat and would not like to do nearly 2 miles.

oh on not at all at all. no fun.

so we went around - does anyone know the history and why it was so important to drive a 2 mile tunnel under hill when i remember it was not that far to go around the long way?