Advice on getting a boat safety certificate

Featured Posts

Hi I'm new to boating an I've gotta Norman 27 river cruiser. 

So I need to get a boat safety certificate (aswell as a license an insurance)

An I was looking to get some advice on finding a boat safety examiner.

I was told to always ask if they charge to do a retest aswell as the fuel charge I also was told to ask if they charge for the price of the certificate on top or if it is included .

Is there anything else I need to know or have I pretty much got it all covered?

I just wanna achieve a pass on the day. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks 4 reading

In order to achieve a pass on the day, you'll need to go through the requirements beforehand and see how your boat compares.

Advice here: https://www.boatsafetyscheme.org/requirements-examinations-certification/arranging-a-bss-examination/preparing-for-examination/

And the requirements here https://www.boatsafetyscheme.org/requirements-examinations-certification/private-boat-requirements/

Does your boat have gas installed for cooking and/or hot water? Is your boat used as a dwelling? There are some complications if you answer yes to both these, but solvable.

If the boat is on Canal & River Trust waters it should have a number, displayed (something like 54321), and a current BSC certificate.

Did you get any paperwork. Do you have proof of ownership,  as the another post says you want to get in to this boat but don't have a key.

Edited by LadyG

Ask those around where you cruise and moor who they use.  If you care to provide an approximate location folks on here may also make suggestions.

The suggestion that you go through the check-list yourself beforehand is a good one.  Many fails are on simple things that could have been fixed easily.   If there are things you do not understand or unsure about post pictures and advice will appear.

All the examiners are listed on the BSS website linked above, with contact details.