How to stop embers from my chimney burning my cratch cover

Hevs

Featured Posts

20230809_153911-min.thumb.jpg.999d04688eabe12466910fef21643bf9.jpgHi all. 

I am new to boating as a live aboard and I had my first winter onboard 2022-2023.

I have just had my cratch cover replaced as it had preexisting holes burned through it by embers from the chimney.

These got progressively worse / there were more after my first winter. 

How do I stop this from happening again? 

The fitters reckon this is a common problem so I hoped the hive mind would be able to recommend things that I can do.

Thanks for your help in advance. 😊

I wonder whether a different chimney might help, one that doesn't have a flat cap that an ember might bump into and lose upward momentum. Perhaps one of the ones that turn with the wind like this one Narrowboat Chimney Bird Cowl - Smokie Joes.

Only speculating mind - I've not had this problem, but then our chimney is halfway down the boat.

First, make sure you keep the chimney swept. Second, do not overload the fire; which fire do you have and what do you burn?

If the fire is too small for your requirement and you overfire it then you will get sparks. Another solution would be to fit a flue draught stabiliser so that the fire does not roar up the chimney.

My stove was in the exact same place as the OPs for 30 years and never had this problem.

And I'm not one to spare the stove when it gets cold! I run mine hard. 

Very odd. 

Hevs, what make and model of stove do you have?

Some people think that a fire must go out every day and then get relit, with subsequent paper/kindling/wood flying up chimbly as they try to super heat the cold boat quickly.

Rule of thumb....keep your fire in from October to April...

I have never seen a scorched cratch cover so either you need to work out when your damage is occurring, or who is smoking fags outside your boat.

• Greenie 2

10 minutes ago, matty40s said: