Engine to prop shaft aligment

Featured Posts

New(ish) boat with Beta 43 (rubbery mounts) and Centaflex coupling, now 1 year and 500 hrs old. I think I should check the engine alignment since it seems quite easy to adjust (threaded rod for height and slots in mounts for lateral) and whilst it is very smooth at canal speeds, it was perhaps a bit rumbly at river severn speeds. However, I have never done this before so any tips would be useful please...

I believe I need to temporarily remove the centaflex coupling and replace it with something solid - Somebody mentioned a "half coupling" - what is that, where would I get it and how do I do it?

Do I check the alignment at the the flange that is right at the exit from the gearbox (by unbolting and separating slightly said flange)?

Is any allowance made to optimise alignment for when engine is driving (presumably having moved slightly on its rubber mounts) or is it always done to optimise alignment with no drive torque applied? (not sure how one would align it under torque, just wondered...)

TIA

nick

New(ish) boat with Beta 43 (rubbery mounts) and Centaflex coupling, now 1 year and 500 hrs old. I think I should check the engine alignment since it seems quite easy to adjust (threaded rod for height and slots in mounts for lateral) and whilst it is very smooth at canal speeds, it was perhaps a bit rumbly at river severn speeds. However, I have never done this before so any tips would be useful please...

I believe I need to temporarily remove the centaflex coupling and replace it with something solid - Somebody mentioned a "half coupling" - what is that, where would I get it and how do I do it?

Do I check the alignment at the the flange that is right at the exit from the gearbox (by unbolting and separating slightly said flange)?