Russell Newbury DM2

Featured Posts

Hi all. Newbie here. I am in the process of buying a trad Narrowboat with a RN DM2 engine.

what are they like? I know they sound great, but are they ok for going up the Severn from Gloucester to Tewksbury and then on the Avon to Stratford?

And any other information would be lovely.

many thanks 

martin

Welcome to the forum.

Do you have a beard? Do you smoke a pipe? You won't be allowed to buy it if you don't. Sorry, but them's the rules! 😀

Some more serious and knowledgable people will be along shortly to actually answer your questions.

So long as you follow the flood warnings, yes, a DM2 is more than capable of enjoying every navigable canal and river that a narrowboat with a Beta or Isuzu engine can.

Theres one (58ft) in this marina that in 26 years has been along every inch of EA and CRT waters, some many times, including the Wash and Severn down to Portishead....and has also been trapped for short periods on the flooded Soar, Nene and Avon!!

Edited by matty40s
  • Greenie 2

28 minutes ago, Martin Harris said:

Hi all. Newbie here. I am in the process of buying a trad Narrowboat with a RN DM2 engine.

what are they like? I know they sound great, but are they ok for going up the Severn from Gloucester to Tewksbury and then on the Avon to Stratford?

And any other information would be lovely.

many thanks 

martin

If the engine, gearbox reduction( if any) and the prop are well-matched to the boat then in summer you should be fine, as long as you learn to recognise when it is time, current wise, to stay tied up and wait for the current to abate. Boating on rivers is more about reading the water and good watermans ship.

• Greenie 1

I have done both of those river sections and more in a boat powered by a National 2DM, which is the same engine as the RN DM2, but built under licence from the RN company. Absolutely no problem with having sufficient power.

• Greenie 2