Boiler

Shelley1981

Featured Posts

Welcome to the forum and congrats on buying in to the wonderful world of boating.

I'm no expert, but someone will advise on your boiler!

Before you start changing things, which is never easy, personally, I would try to get everything working, cleaned and inspected, familiarisation.

Yes, it can, but whether it is practical or not is the question. You need to find enough free wall space, run gas pipe that is compliant with the BSS, and alter the hot and cold water supply, as well as cutting a new hole in the roof and sealing the existing one, that means locating and avoiding the strengthening ribs that are probably in the roof.

If this is a boat you are permanently living on, you might need to employ a Gas Safe registered engineer endorsed LPG & marine, and that opens up a whole new more stringent set of regulations that apply to homes, rather than just the Boat Safety Scheme. If it is a holiday boat you will only need a person who is "competent" and if you are competent and in the case of an accident can prove it, you can do it yourself.

You can do almost anything to a boat as long a sit complies with the regulations, and you have enough money. That could even include having a window take out and the aperture filled in to give a mounting area. but will it be worth the cost and upheaval.

Thanks Tony, I’m not going to be living on the boat and have about 6k to do it all up. Probably getting carried away with myself. I thought the boiler was a bit of an eyesore here but was told it had to stay put.

Probably my best bet LadyG, there is a lot to do to get it up to scratch 

Welcome to the forum. I wouldn’t necessarily be in a rush to change things which are often where they are for a reason. It’s tempting to stamp our mark on a boat then wish we hadn’t!

Those heaters are really good. Don’t be tempted to change it. The convenience of instant hot water is not to be underestimated. 

• Greenie 1

1 hour ago, Shelley1981 said: