Pianos On Boats (why not?)

FORTUNATA

Featured Posts

I thought I would do this post for anyone who may have thought about learning an instrument. Pianos on boats, why not?

So, there are now plenty of cheap pianos for sale as not many people want them. I know that narrow-boats tend to rock and bump a lot so many people will consider an electric piano safer. Or a synth with piano settings. Also those outmoded triple or double keyboard home and pub organs can now be bought for peanuts online - even a Lowry.

Here is the punch-line of my post: The main reason hardly anyone learns piano today is because it is assumed to be a long, time-consuming process that involves lessons, note-reading, graded exams each year and no evident results till a few years have passed. I'd like to state this is totally incorrect, unless we refer to classical pianol.

So far as learning to play piano goes, I can say with confidence many fairly decent piano players were self-taught. Gilbert O Sullivan simply put an old piano in a garden shed, had no formal lessons and just picked it up by ear. Same with Lennon and McCartney. Barry Manilow also was from a very poor part of urban New York and couldn't afford lessons so taught himself at first on a squeeze box.

Basically the big plus with music is anybody can make good music in the space of a very short time. That is simply because music is about sound, not complexity. Let's take one of the greatest rated riffs in Rock n' Roll, Can't Get No Satisfaction. This is just three notes on one string of a fuzz guitar. All it needs is a bit of muffle, a bit of a bend and a good feel and away you go. If you go to YouTube you'll find scores of great songs you can learn to play as a beginner after maybe 2 months, depending on speed of learning.