When do I officially ‘own’ the boat?

Lizzy Lou

Featured Posts

Hi

Haven’t even introduced myself yet. Sorry. Sure I’ll get round to that soon.

Here’s my question. I’m just about to complete the purchase of a boat. Paid 10% deposit a few weeks ago to the brokerage. (A very well known small(ish) broker around the Tamworth/Lichfield area.) Full survey went great. I’m happy to proceed with purchase, but can’t physically be present for a little while.

So how safe am I to transfer the money to the (very genuine and very well established, well known) brokerage, who are selling on behalf of the owner? Will I own the boat at the point of money transfer? What might happen in the highly unlikely event of the brokerage ceasing trading before I can take receipt of the keys to the boat.

Appreciate any advice, as it’s obviously a sizeable wedge of money, and I’ve never done this before.

Very many thanks.

1 hour ago, Lizzy Lou said:

Haven’t even introduced myself yet. Sorry. Sure I’ll get round to that soon.

Well here is as good a place as any so - Hello Lizzy and welcome to the forum. :)

There seems to have been a little mix up with some of the postings and a post meant for you seems to have be posted on another thread that was started about the same time as your so here's a link to it. 

It is normal for the seller to keep the boat insured until midnight of the day of purchase so you should make sure it is insured and licenced from that day onwards.

Any reputable broker will keep buyers deposits and final payments in an escrow account, protecting you if they do go belly up.

The broker cannot always transfer the money from this account to the seller for 24 hours(money laundering regulations)....however, once your money hits the brokers account the boat is essentially yours.

27 minutes ago, matty40s said:

It is normal for the seller to keep the boat insured until midnight of the day of purchase so you should make sure it is insured and licenced from that day onwards.