Salt of the earth...

Bobbybass

Featured Posts

I've been working at a caravan site for a few months and now it's shutting down. 

I've been draining them down...and in most of the vans the owners have put down dishes of salt... I presume to absorb moisture ?

I'm just about to go and winterise my boat and wonder if this method is effective ?

What do you all reckon ?

7 minutes ago, Bobbybass said:

I've been working at a caravan site for a few months and now it's shutting down. 

I've been draining them down...and in most of the vans the owners have put down dishes of salt... I presume to absorb moisture ?

I'm just about to go and winterise my boat and wonder if this method is effective ?

What do you all reckon ?

I've used it and it's not bad. I buy cheap disposable plastic cups to put the salt in and then they go in tighter spots and smaller cupboards but I use Ecozone dehumidifiers (they don't use any  unnecessary chemicals) where I think I may need a bit more welly so to speak. The salt is fine and it's cheap but I wouldn't use it instead of the dehumidifier.

https://www.biggreensmile.com/products/ecozone-room-dehumidifier/zonedehumidroom.aspx?productid=zonedehumidroom

https://www.biggreensmile.com/products/ecozone-dehumidifier-universal-refill-pouch/zonedehumidrefill.aspx?productid=zonedehumidrefill

31 minutes ago, Sea Dog said:

Hmm, the interior space inside a narrowboat is probably something like 2000 cu ft.  Is a dish of salt or a pound shop dessicant really going to affect such a volume?

I seriously doubt it. Seems more akin to faith healing than science, IMO.

(I had to work out that 2000 cuft is about 55 m3 first, though)

9 hours ago, Sea Dog said:

Hmm, the interior space inside a narrowboat is probably something like 2000 cu ft.  Is a dish of salt or a pound shop dessicant really going to affect such a volume?