Questions about Manchester New Islington Marina

Rachael Farrow

Featured Posts

Hi! Newbie here with some questions about New Islington Marina, this is actually my first post! ?
So I understand the marina has been closed for the last year and have evicted the whole community. It's such a shame, as the community has really built something wonderful in that area simply to be moved on from their homes. 

My question is this: What is the situation with residential mooring in the marina now? I saw an Air BnB ad for a houseboat on the marina the other day, but I'm not sure if a different license applies for business use. 
My partner and I are still fairly new to boating and are looking to purchase our first boat, so we're new to the whole process. If we were to get a residential mooring in New Islington, who do we contact to acquire this? 

I feel like I've come a few years too late to the party as I've been wanting to try the liveaboard lifestyle for a while now, and with my current circumstance, I may finally have the chance to if I can find a residential mooring in Manchester, and not only is the New Islington Marina beautiful, the community seem like an amazing bunch too. I can't believe the council would just evict everyone like that on such short notice.
If there are limited spaces, I'll have to expand my search further afield and look elsewhere as I feel the residents who made the area what it is should have first grabs! I heard they were given no guarantee of getting their mooring back, or even if they would have preference over new applicants. ?
If it turns out there are moorings, but there are limited spots, can anyone say what it's like at Droylsden? How easy is it to get residential mooring there?

I think Droylsden Marina is pretty full, not surprising as it is very convenient for shops, trams,buses etc. You could make enquiries with Portland Basin Marina who manage Droylsden.