Nobody hurt thankfully

Boaty Jo

Featured Posts

The initial outflow from Kegworth deep is very swift due to the depth of the lock, the boat drops swiftly and the cill is much further out than most of the other locks the boaters will have done so far.

It only takes a few seconds to cill, and if the lower paddle operator had wandered back to the boat, another few seconds to rush back and drop (they don't, need to be wound down) the paddles.

Edited by matty40s

I wonder if James Griffin really said, or believes, this statement . . . attributed to him in a newspaper article : --

'Managing director James Griffin said the couple who hired the narrowboat were 'experienced boaters', but were caught out by the depth of the lock, which was several feet deeper than the average lock. He said the couple had been 'quite unlucky'.

There seems to have been a lot of boats sinking in locks this year . . . is it about average, or have there been more than usual?

Bear with me as I'm very new to this, but surely you should notice that something was going wrong long before the boat got to that angle and just close the paddles?

I'll remind you of this post if it ever happens to you. You might have a bit of empathy for someone on a scary and confusing situation.

No, hang on, silly me, it's you, you don't do empathy.

I'm glad you were born knowing everything.

I wonder if James Griffin really said, or believes, this statement . . . attributed to him in a newspaper article : --

'Managing director James Griffin said the couple who hired the narrowboat were 'experienced boaters', but were caught out by the depth of the lock, which was several feet deeper than the average lock. He said the couple had been 'quite unlucky'.

There seems to have been a lot of boats sinking in locks this year . . . is it about average, or have there been more than usual?

Experience can breed complacency....... And of course there are many distractions out there.......