1st time out

Emerald

Featured Posts

Ok, so this will probably raise a few eyebrows but everyone has to start somewhere right?

As I am a complete newbie and as the weather is starting to improve somewhat I am starting to plan ahead for my first venture outside of the comfort of my home marina.

This will be my first outing and so given that the entrance to the marina is narrow the entrance to the canal looks so incredibly small when do I begin to instigate my turn?

I should say that I have undoubtably stretched beyond my abilities and have a 57ft narrowboat. I understand the boat pivots in the centre so does that mean I start the turn about midway? If that is the case then there is approximately 30ft of front end sticking out into the channel a little different from nudging a car out from a side to a main road methinks? :blush:

Any suggestions other than take a bus journey will be gratefully appreciated.

Ok, so this will probably raise a few eyebrows but everyone has to start somewhere right?

As I am a complete newbie and as the weather is starting to improve somewhat I am starting to plan ahead for my first venture outside of the comfort of my home marina.

This will be my first outing and so given that the entrance to the marina is narrow the entrance to the canal looks so incredibly small when do I begin to instigate my turn?

I should say that I have undoubtably stretched beyond my abilities and have a 57ft narrowboat. I understand the boat pivots in the centre so does that mean I start the turn about midway? If that is the case then there is approximately 30ft of front end sticking out into the channel a little different from nudging a car out from a side to a main road methinks? :blush:

What about taking a 1 day training course. Many instructors will also offer 'own boat' training so you learn on the boat you will be operating. The RYA website has details.