Hand signals

JohnGH

Featured Posts

I'm relatively new to this game, so this will probably seem obvious to most, but I remain confused.

At times it is easier to pass another boat on the wrong side, normally around locks and bridges. I have seen others use hand signals, then head in the direction they have indicated, so consequently have done the same myself. I have been confused as a couple of times when others have indicated then gone the opposite way, i guess indicating the direction they would like me to go.

So what are the correct signals when you wish to pass on the wrong side?

I'm relatively new to this game, so this will probably seem obvious to most, but I remain confused.

At times it is easier to pass another boat on the wrong side, normally around locks and bridges. I have seen others use hand signals, then head in the direction they have indicated, so consequently have done the same myself. I have been confused as a couple of times when others have indicated then gone the opposite way, i guess indicating the direction they would like me to go.

A difficult one, and one which I suspect will never be resolved without e.g. training or a definite decision becoming well known, neither of which will happen anytime soon. Where possible, I would suspect the best action is to realise the situation early enough to avoid getting into the "grey area". Perhaps another application for use of cheap, low range radios, that everyone can afford ( £10) like 446, perhaps :lol: ?

Nick

There are no real 'correct' signals apart from horn signals like I'm moving to port to starboard etc etc - they are not really worth learning though because no body generally uses them because like me most can't remember them.

If I think a boat is better to pass on the wrong side I normally very pointedly point at them and then signal to them which side to pass whilst making a decisive as I can manage steer to the left so they pass on my right.

It normally works for me.