12v Advise needed

Featured Posts

I am a newbie to 12v and need some advise so please bare with me.

If I have a leisure battery and I want to run a 12v compressor fridge,plug in a mobile phone what sort of setup do I need to install?

For example do I need to buy a fused 12v panel that has cigerette type sockets thats connected to the battery?

I want to keep things as simple as possible if such a thing is possible.

Is there a good guide or book with lots of pictures to follow anyone recommends?

thanks.

Start with the charging of said batteries. Generator, mains, solar etc.

Yes you will need some switches and fuses and some cig lighter sockets, but the sockets are unreliable in regular use so wire in all you can. Use thick wire 2.5mm for a start as volts dropped across thin wires stops things working.

The OP says "a"leisure battery, if there is only one an electric fridge wont run for very long

The fridge is 35 watt and runs about 5 mins in every hour.

I have a solar panel I wish to connect too but I'm just giving the one battery as an example I just want to know how to connect everything up.

thanks.

It just has 12v lights and a switch for the showers bilge pump.

So how do your lights work?

The OP says "a"leisure battery, if there is only one an electric fridge wont run for very long

NC originally had one leisure battery and the fridge worked fine.

I have a solar panel I wish to connect too but I'm just giving the one battery as an example I just want to know how to connect everything up.

thanks.

Do you really mean 35 watt.

thanks.

I'd be amazed if it really runs for 5 mind every hour unless it's not getting very cold....most run for at least 30-40% of time depending on type/ventilation/ambient temp etc.

Cheers

Gareth

• Greenie 1

Start with the charging of said batteries. Generator, mains, solar etc.