How to light hob

Owl

Featured Posts

I'm completely new to boating and having trouble with something very basic which is lighting the hob for cooking. It's a vanette 4000/2 and at the survey a few weeks ago the hob rings were working happily which I saw with my own eyes. However now I can't get any of the rings to light and haven't been able to do so since moving in a couple of days ago. There's four rings  and I can't get any of them to light. 

There's no ticking sound for the ignition suggesting it might not be working which I don't mind, but I've tried manually lighting the hob with a long lighter which I'm also used to using at home and nothing happens. I do feel like I can smell gas coming out of the ring as normal when the switch is turned, although I can't hear it flowing.  I've only tried this for at most 5, 10 seconds at a time as I'm scared of filling the boat with gas. 

Does anyone have any ideas what might be happening? No suggestions too basic as like I say I'm a complete novice and feel like it's probably something obvious as the surveyor a few weeks ago got the hob working with no problems. 

Welcome, Owl. You are wise not to leave the switches turned on for too long; but I wonder if you are pressing them down as you turn them? That's what we need to do when lighting a gas ring on our boat. Keeping the switch depressed for a few seconds after the flame ignites seems to ensure that it will stay lit rather than going out as soon as pressure on the switch is relaxed, though I don't know why.

Can you hear the hiss of gas coming out while the rings fail to light?

If not, the gas supply has failed. Did you realise the gas comes from gas bottles that run out and need refilling?

do you have any other gas appliances? Do they still work? How about the oven and grill?

Hi all 

Thanks for your suggestions so far.