Grove Lock Inn, mooring and turning

Jak

Featured Posts

So I'm still a newbie and planning to cruise over to the Grove Lock Inn on Sunday with Mum and Dad to show off the boat and get a nice meal. Coming up the GU from the Leighton Buzzard direction.

Can someone with local knowledge please help by letting me know:

- where can I turn either below or above the lock (only 47' long)

- any idea how busy it gets on a Sunday? Booked the table but the guy taking the booking had no idea about mooring

Thanks for any help...

As said you can turn below the lock by the pub I wouldn't turn above as it is very shallow on the offside past the marina and water levels are very unpredictable in the pond , we are in the marina and water levels are ok at the moment but its still shallow on the offside past us, a boat got totally beached there a few weeks ago trying to cut the corner .

regards pub it gets really busy at weekends and indeed most of the time so booking is very advisable

hope this helps

Thanks. Dad is over 80 and has limited mobility so will drop him off right outside the pub then moor up below.

slight problem you may have is there are 2 CaRT barges moored on the pub mooring , they have moved the dredger but left the barges at least as of this morning they were still there , so you will stuggle to moor right out side I am afraid and the only other mooring is on the towpath side which would involve going across the very rickey lock gates which I guess is a no no to anyone with mobility problems ( its a big enough issue to me with the dog as the gates and rails are in shocking state . you may therefore have to go up and drop him at the top of the lock . Why not come earlier and have a nice little cruise up to slapton and turn there prob take no more than a couple hours round trip max , nice cruise followed by nice lunch and short cruise back make a day of it .

interestinly we were moored up next to Ajax in Aylesbury basin last winter next to the wet dock