Worst case scenario

Dyad

Featured Posts

I was looking on Google Maps satellite view at Hawkesbury Junction and thought Ooo my worst nightmare. A curve with boats moored either side, a boat coming in both directions towards each other. What happens if they don't see each other until the last minute and there is no room to manoeuvre, literally.

Your opinions/experiences please.

I've done Sutton Stop dozens of times, often with a pair, and never had a problem.

Sorry Carl, I wasn't referring to the site in particular more the scenario of a bend and two boats meeting in a narrow bit between moored boats. I am a novice and the fear of meeting someone coming the other way with other boats either side fills me with dread. I expect it isn't as bad as it looks on the aerial shot.

I was looking on Google Maps satellite view at Hawkesbury Junction and thought Ooo my worst nightmare. A curve with boats moored either side, a boat coming in both directions towards each other. What happens if they don't see each other until the last minute and there is no room to manoeuvre, literally.

Your opinions/experiences please.

The worst case scenario is that boats hit each other, and swearing happens. Narrowboats are made of steel and they don't go very fast. We had a day-hire boat veer across in front of us at the last minute on the GU, we T-boned it just at the start of the cabin. There was a dent afterwards but nobody sank. Hopefully next time that steerer will remember which way to push the tiller even when under pressure.

MP.

Sorry Carl, I wasn't referring to the site in particular more the scenario of a bend and two boats meeting in a narrow bit between moored boats. I am a novice and the fear of meeting someone coming the other way with other boats either side fills me with dread. I expect it isn't as bad as it looks on the aerial shot.

Hi

I find the easiest method is to slam it into full reverse and close your eyes :lol: