Reversing

goldtone

Featured Posts

I just can't seem to get the boat to go where I want it to in reverse. It's not that I have to reverse very often, but for example, out cruising a few weeks back on a windy day, I wanted to reverse as the wind was bringing me too close to the lock gates before they had been opened. The boat didn't respond at all and luckily there were no other boats around for me to bash into, or embarrass myself in front of!

So is there a knack to reversing? Even in wind free conditions no matter where i put the tiller it makes no difference as to where the boat goes.

And in your replies please bear in mind: I'm new to boating and not being at all scientifically minded technical terms will be lost on me!

Edited by goldtone

So is there a knack to reversing? Even in wind free conditions no matter where i put the tiller it makes no difference as to where the boat goes.

Our boats weren't really designed to go astern - so it will always be something of a challenge.

Having said that, there have been occasions when we have managed to go astern in a straight line for a considerable distance (see my post here) and the secret seems to be go very slowly and set the tiller over to counteract the torque of the prop - which tends to push the boat over to one side or the other depending on the direction of rotation.

When there are two of us, we usually have one standing on the other end with a shaft to punt the boat over if it starts to veer off course.

It gets better with practice but there are certain factors that will always make reversing unpredictable - these include shallow water and obstructions on the bottom, wind, banks of silt beside moored boats etc.