Boat Sitting too high?

Featured Posts

Hi All,

I’m a complete newbie to boating and have just received delivery of a widebeam 70x12 (waiting for the rolleyes ?)!!

On craning in we noticed it was sitting about 2 inches above where it should be, the manufacturer told us it would settle down once the kitchen and fit out was completed. We also noticed the boat struggled to slow down in reverse.

Ive just had the kitchen delivered into boat and it hadn’t moved or gone down. I’m being told by the manufacturer that I may have to put more ballast/weight in the engine room.

Is this the right approach or should they put more ballast under the kitchen floor? I didn’t really want the engine room full of extra weights but would be grateful for your learned opinions and suggestions

ive attached a picture but it doesn’t really show how it it sits.

Thank you

Dee

4FD3A100-F18E-4AEB-AD84-1AD9C6EBAB9F.jpeg

I'd say the manu was just giving you the brush off. It needs, I estimate, two or three tonnes of ballast in the back to get the counter down to the water. The bow will rise up a bit. 

Once the counter is on the water, stopping performance will improve dramatically. 

6 minutes ago, DeepLock said:

Is this the right approach or should they put more ballast under the kitchen floor?

The kitchen in a boat is called the 'galley'.... 

8 minutes ago, DeepLock said:

I’m being told by the manufacturer that I may have to put more ballast/weight in the engine room.

Is that YOU must put more ballast in, or they will ?

If the boat is not correct then I'd withhold the final payment and let them 'sort it' before finally signing the acceptance.

If it is pretty much just a 'shell' and you are doing a self fit-out they would have no idea of what you are installing so can only make a best guess and you will have to trim it when you have completed the fit-out.