12volt or mains fridge 2017 figures

mrsmelly

Featured Posts

Ok peeps so I am NOT an electrician but I am someone with approaching 30 years liveaboard status much of it off grid. I have had gas, 12 volt and mains fridges over the years and though I like gas its not much of an option these days so looking at electric I have preffered in the past my mains set up on last boat but one. I bought this boat 2 and a half years ago with 12 volt danfoss usual size undercounter frodge fitted which has worked faultlessly but I wanted something a bit bigger and I have decided again to go back to mains the main reasons being choice, availability and I hate the rip off 12 volt prices so I did much online checking and bought a mains delivered for 160 quid with the lowest consumption figures I could find rather than appliance price. To sum up the build quality is vastly superior and the extra space great, now the important consumption figures. I am not anal but am confined to the boat so have more time than usual to mess around and here goes. My 12 volt fridge drew 3.7 amps when running, this mains fridge draws 4.8 amps including inverter which I would be happy with anyway due to its superior space and quality HOWEVER I timed the 12 volt fridge for a couple of days roughly and I have done the same with this new fridge and to maintain a similar temperature the 12 volt fridge ran very nearly twice as long in each hour as this new fridge does so without being a mathmatician and being super anal it shows without question that the mains fridge is cheaper to run as well as being much nicer. I think domestic fridges have probably been improved recently but remember that my last mains set up wasnt much hungrier than the 12 volt would have been. Ok so you need a decent quality inverter but many of us have those fitted now anyway. Oh and the fridge is virtualy silent. Just sayin like.

• Greenie 1

Just now, rusty69 said:

Hoorah, cold beers again.