Oil Under Engine

Hattie

Featured Posts

Hi,

Am a TOTAL newbie and in the process of buying my first boat (with someone who knows a tad more about boats than me). We've seen a boat we really like, it's just had a safety certificate and we're having it surveyed next week. The only thing worrying me is that there seems to be a collection of oil udnerneath the engine. The owners aren't sure why and it's obviously passed a safety check - but is this somethign I should be worried about or am I being overly concerned about something pretty normal?

Thanks so much in advance,

H

If it was a car wouldn't you be concerned?

Some of the old BMC lumps are notorious for leaking oil, and there is something of an acceptance along the lines of "they all do that" amongst many owners of these engines. But it is not acceptable and you ask the question why hasn't the current owner done anything about it? Don't think just because the boat has a BSC it's ok - far from it.

I would no more buy a boat that has a leaky engine than I would a car or van. Probably more so with a boat because you can't easily see where it's coming from.

If you really like the boat I would say it's perfectly reasonable to insist the owner puts it right at their expense before you complete the purchase.

If it was a car wouldn't you be concerned?

Some of the old BMC lumps are notorious for leaking oil, and there is something of an acceptance along the lines of "they all do that" amongst many owners of these engines. But it is not acceptable and you ask the question why hasn't the current owner done anything about it? Don't think just because the boat has a BSC it's ok - far from it.

I would no more buy a boat that has a leaky engine than I would a car or van. Probably more so with a boat because you can't easily see where it's coming from.

If you really like the boat I would say it's perfectly reasonable to insist the owner puts it right at their expense before you complete the purchase.