NB Tia May Electric Drive Conversion

Redeye

Featured Posts

Hi Guys

Though I would share my thoughts and experiences on converting my Narrowboat to an electric drive system. There have been a number of boat tests recently with a variety of the available systems and the concept interests me. I have been researching the conversion for around 6 months and have come up with a system and solution that is somewhat different to the DC drives that are currently available. I will attempt to post my thoughts and experiences as I progress with the build, any comments would be appreciated

yes please

very interested in this idea of an electric narrowboat.

when I had a yard in london we had an electric milk float which was very useful and i was considering using the drive motor and controller from an old milk float as a starting point for a conversion.

looking forward to your posts

Will it be one of these pretend electric drive systems where the betterys are charged up by a diesel engine, in which case you may as well use the engine to drive the boat and save on batterys.

With the system you stated above you can have a smaller diesel engine, which will run at a set speed, which is more efficient and easier to soundproof. I think the dutch barge Sara has this setup and the generator only needs to be used around 50% of the time when traveling for 6 hours.

Edit to say another plus is that as non of the diesel is used for propulsion, so you can save here as well.

Edited by Robbo

With the system you stated above you can have a smaller diesel engine, which will run at a set speed, which is more efficient and easier to soundproof. I think the dutch barge Sara has this setup and the generator is only needs to be used around 50% of the time when traveling for 6 hours.

Edit to say another plus is that as non of the diesel is used for propulsion, you save here as well.

That's the one!