Stern Gland repacking

Stehughesie

Featured Posts

Hi.

Just blacked boat for first time at dry dock. When returning noticed constant drip from stern gland (1 drip every second) which needed pumping out via bilge pump. This drip was despite greasing stern regularly throughout 8 hour journey on return from dry dock. Appeared drip got worse once moored up and engine turned off. Read lots about tightening stern gland and repacking but noticed our boat doesn't have typical bolts that can be tightened. Any ideas on how I can tighten this type of gland very much appreciated.

Kindest regards

Ste

20231030_081038.jpg

You are a star, thank you.

I'll buy a spanner and tighten it up, hopefully should do the trick. Can I ask what is conventional graphite stuffing (assume it's like a putty) and if you can continue tightening until end of thread. I've read about tightening just enough so as shaft turns without too much friction.

I'm new to boating and it is amazing that you have helped me so quickly and eased my mind.

Its cotton weave in various thicknesses impregnated with graphite , find the size by using a twist drill that will fit in the gap when the ring is out.

https://www.force4.co.uk/item/Force-4/1-4---615mm-x-05m-Gland-Packing/G9M?stock=21082&msclkid=6e08438fa40e199fcb0326ddc761ed40

You may need two C spanners of different sizes - the lock ring looks slightly larger than the "nut", and you may need two separate spanners so that you can tighten the lock ring whilst holding the "nut" in the required position.

The "nut" is nearest the gearbox, the lock ring immediately before the stern tube.

springy