Which Charger/Inverter manufacturer is best

Bob Blues

Featured Posts

Can I ask which Charger/Inverter combi manufacturer is best?

I have a old Mastervolt Heart 2000w/100A charger. It is about 10 years old at least and although its working it seems very inefficient and I would like to replace it. Just leaving it on with no load and the battery voltage drops.

Looking through the past posts on the matter it doesn’t seem to give a clear market leader.

I am more favored towards replacing it with another Mastervolt but by the time you buy the control panel as well its about £2k.

I am looking for efficiency and a very good sinewave (less noise etc...) I bought a 300W inverter from Maplins and

my mac laptop wont charge off it. So, I need to run the main inverter just to run my laptop and 3G router. It seams a lot of waste.

Regards

Bob

Mastervolt is the best, then Victron, then Sterling Power Products. These 3 firms make chargers specifically for the marine market, where there's always going to be a bit more condensation/moisture than other areas. So they're designed from the ground up for these conditions.

I was lucky, in that both my laptops charge from a small 150W Maplins MSW inverter, which didn't cost much. I also have a 1500W MSW inverter (a cheap UK one from eBay), it won't work with the laptop power supplies. If one is plugged in and switched on at the socket, even if not connected to a laptop, the inverter 'clicks' and won't produce power. Unplug/switch off at socket, and it will produce power for other items. We use it to power a microwave and larger power tools.

Mastervolt is the best, then Victron, then Sterling Power Products. These 3 firms make chargers specifically for the marine market, where there's always going to be a bit more condensation/moisture than other areas. So they're designed from the ground up for these conditions.