Offers/pre-purchase surveys of first boat purchase

Beans

Featured Posts

Hello! I have been lurking for a while and just wanted to thank you all for the wealth of information on here. What a pleasure it is to learn and see all of your knowledge. I am here asking for some advice.

I am due to view a boat I really like the look of tomorrow, and wanted some general advice. It's a 23ft.

I plan to live on it full-time continuously cruising canals of London. I am new to boating but lived on one 
for a while in the peak of Winter with no hot water; my post winter cold shower method for warmth was sit by the fire
and eat half a scotch bonnet chilli. I am by no means experienced but I am very excited to become a person on the canals and learn what I need to.

An old survey from 2020 shows some necessary works that the Broker has said the owner has completed. I am not sure if I will be meeting the owner but it seems not, which is a shame. In the survey, the engine and gearbox were visually inspected but not started, weed hatch gasket was not checked, water system (shower , sink) were not checked (nor tank capacity), there is one battery on board, propellor was 'in serviceable condition, with some tip damage', a recommendation to check the floor of the gas locker for corrosion/painting and some entry points to the wider picture of the hull were not made accessible. The boat also needs to be blacked on purchase, and there is no solar panel system.

I think I have covered the 'main' things that are a potential headache for me. This would be my first boat purchase and I plan to get an independent surveyor, to check as much as humanly possible.

My biggest query is how I can influence the boats' readiness for the surveyor to catch as much as possible? I.e.: I know that the surveyor will not be straining or opening up anything, and I do not like the 'holes' left in the survey due to seemingly this.