How much power are you solar panels generating?

Hevs

Featured Posts

Hi all. 

I am new to boating and just installed solar panels on my roof. I have two 400w panels and don't seem to be generating alot of electricity. 

Today it has been glorious sunshine, almost no clouds in the Midlands area and I generated 410wh. This is less than yesterday - which was very, very grey. 

About 2 weeks ago, on a day less lovely than today I generated 2.17kwh. Which is significantly more.

There is nothing shading my panels, they are a tad mucky in the corners though. 

Should they be generating more? What are you guys generating with similar set ups?

Thanks for all of your help in advance. 

Heather.

13 minutes ago, Hevs said:

Hi all. 

I am new to boating and just installed solar panels on my roof. I have two 400w panels and don't seem to be generating alot of electricity. 

Today it has been glorious sunshine, almost no clouds in the Midlands area and I generated 410wh. This is less than yesterday - which was very, very grey. 

About 2 weeks ago, on a day less lovely than today I generated 2.17kwh. Which is significantly more.

There is nothing shading my panels, they are a tad mucky in the corners though. 

Should they be generating more? What are you guys generating with similar set ups?

Thanks for all of your help in advance. 

Heather.

You need to understand that the batteries control how much they will accept, fully charged batteries will accept virtually nothing even in the strongest sunshine, whilst partly charged batteries will take all the solar can put out (even in cloudy conditions)

• Greenie 1
  • Love 1

Just now, Alan de Enfield said:

You need to understand that the batteries control how much they will accept, fully charged batteries will accept virtually nothing even in the strongest sunshine, whilst partly charged batteries will take all the solar can put out (even in cloudy conditions)