No 240v!!!! Help.

Featured Posts

Hi folks,

I am in a pickle. My inverter has decided not to work. The engine runs fine. The 12 v is working. But the battery low light on the inverter is red and I have no 240v. I am new to canal life so seem to be asking and taking more than I give on this forum. If anyone can help I would be extremely grateful. It's a Victron Phoenix combi  12 1600 75.

4 minutes ago, Amphibian Man said:

Hi folks,

I am in a pickle. My inverter has decided not to work. The engine runs fine. The 12 v is working. But the battery low light on the inverter is red and I have no 240v. I am new to canal life so seem to be asking and taking more than I give on this forum. If anyone can help I would be extremely grateful. It's a Victron Phoenix combi  12 1600 75.

Check the connections at the batteries and inverter, and the voltage available from the batteries as the inverter will cut out below a certain voltage. 

Also worth checking any isolation switches as they often fail internally and cause all sorts of issues, particularly the cheap ones.

Edited by BWM

5 minutes ago, Amphibian Man said:

But the battery low light on the inverter is red and I have no 240v.

Surely the problem is self-explanatory. Your domestic batteries are flat. 

Try running the engine at say half speed, i.e. a good bit faster than tickover.  Does the "Battery Low" light still come on? 

7 minutes ago, Amphibian Man said:

Hi MtB,

I ran the engine for a couple of hours about 1500 rpm. But still got the red light

Yes. But have you tried the inverter while the engine is running? If the charging system is working that will raise the battery voltage sufficiently for the inverter to work, even if the batteries are flat (or knackered).

32 minutes ago, David Mack said: