Some questions from a newbie on here

tidal

Featured Posts

I'm seriously contemplating becoming a continuous cruising, singlehanded liveaboard.

I have had some considerable experience on the canal system and have singlehanded before and have lived aboard seagoing boats for a few years.

However, a few years ago i had a series of minor strokes folowed by a more serious one and whilst this has luckily not affected my mobility to any degree (well not now anyway) it has diminished both my overall strength and stamina.

This is making me think carefully about my choice of type and size of boat.

Having pottered about on a few 40 to 50 odd foot NBs and knowing that, whatever the levels of skills, there will be times when a bit of brute force is required (especially on windy days) I wonder if I may be better looking at one of the GRP cruisers (DC32 for instance) simply for the lower deadweight.

I have seen from other threads (yes I have spent a lot of time searching) that there are some differing opinions on the suitability of cruisers for long term liveaboards and to be honest I would prefer an NB (I like and am used to steering with a tiller) but from a practical and safety point of view would I be correct in surmising that a grp cruiser would be easier to manhandle especially on a long term liveaboard basis?

Any advice and comments would be greatly appreciated

I'm seriously contemplating becoming a continuous cruising, singlehanded liveaboard.

I have had some considerable experience on the canal system and have singlehanded before and have lived aboard seagoing boats for a few years.

However, a few years ago i had a series of minor strokes folowed by a more serious one and whilst this has luckily not affected my mobility to any degree (well not now anyway) it has diminished both my overall strength and stamina.