Soft Starter - one for the elecrical bods

Midnight

Featured Posts

I have a 230v Jabsco waste pump with a full load current of 4.2 amps. My Mastervolt MASS inverter has a bit of trouble getting it started. Running the engine at high revs usually does the trick but I was wondering if I need to add one of those soft starter devices. Is that a good option? Replacing the inverter with a bigger model is going to be very expensive.

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/soft-starts/3305358/

If that doesn't work, look at the wiring between inverter and batteries, as well as battery health.   I'm guessing the inverter is trying to pull too many amps from the batteries and the voltage is dropping as the batteries can't supply it.    If batteries are healthy and charged, it's the type of battery or overall capacity that's an issue.

2 minutes ago, Midnight said:

Yes very good condition 2 x 240 ah batteries

Type and inverter kw?, also size and length of cables to the inverter?

In addition does the Inverter/Combi? have a separate voltage sensor for the batteries?

Edited by Robbo

6 minutes ago, Robbo said:

If that doesn't work, look at the wiring between inverter and batteries, as well as battery health.   I'm guessing the inverter is trying to pull too many amps from the batteries and the voltage is dropping as the batteries can't supply it.    If batteries are healthy and charged, it's the type of battery or overall capacity that's an issue.

No, from what the OP says, I think the inverter is objecting to the transient overload caused by the high start-up current of the hefty electric motor in his pump.

Bear in mind 4.2A and 240Vac is about a kW, and the transient start up current on this electric motor will be briefly attempting draw about about 40A, or 10kW. 

Edited by Mike the Boilerman

3 minutes ago, Robbo said:

Knowing very little about these things, I was wondering if that device would be likely to work or is it for some other use?