240v mains

Featured Posts

Check that you use the correct cable,multistrand not domestic twin and earth, I believe Artic cable is a good choice but hey I'm no expert.

Yes, it is!

If you are going to run a full washing machine through it, including the heater, stick with the fatter 2.5mm stuff, but as has been said, there's little point in a ring main.

If you are feeding from a shore based source, (power point, or stand alone genny), the feed to the whole boat is likely to be that cable, or similar, anyway.

Thanks for the help, I can get the 2.5mm multi strand stuff from my wholesaler in white, yellow, orange or blue, I think they are all the same but the white is cheaper.

so I come out of the inverter/charger to washing machine then out to the next socket etc and just terminate at the last one.

Neil

Thanks for the help, I can get the 2.5mm multi strand stuff from my wholesaler in white, yellow, orange or blue, I think they are all the same but the white is cheaper.

so I come out of the inverter/charger to washing machine then out to the next socket etc and just terminate at the last one.

Neil

Don't forget to check that your Combi (inverter/charger) connects nominal AC output neutral to earth when (and only when) its inverter is running. Then route output to an RCD breaker before its connected to your chain of AC distribution sockets. There are safety implications if you don't ensure both these requirements are met.

If you are to live aboard think of all the kit you will be using a few may be:- ie kettle,tv,sky box,hair dryer cooker, cooker hood,hoover,fridge, freezer,toaster, electric blanket, table lamp, chargers for phone/laptop.ereader etc etc

Unless you want leads all over put in as many sockets as you may need and for the sake of a bit of cable do a propper job as safe as required in your house and meeeting the RCD/BSS

Just my opinion as its harder to add later

Ray

Neil

Neil