naynay

Featured Posts

Hi folks I am new to boating. I would like to downsize to live on a narrowboat because if I don't do it now then I never will! I want an old style boat that is not filled with ultra modern fittings which are not my style. I have seen a few on line but find it difficult timewise getting out to see anything. Also would like someone to come with me who knows more about the technical stuff than me because that could be my downfall. So..... a boat caught my eye on Appolduck not sure how to put the link in but if anyone wants to look then it's the 37ft 1970'sTeddesely Sail Away. It's not at a mooring and the owner has yet to answer my e mail about having a look at it. It's on the Macclesfield canal somewhere and I am in Liverpool.... It needs a boiler as there only seems to be cold water. I know it's cheap but what do the more experienced of you boaters think about it please. I have seen a few others but one at a time!!

thanks folks

My advice is to take your time. It is a steep learning curve and there are no short cuts. Yes you could buy the first boat you see, and some people do. But... If you want to live on the boat then you will need to know all about the technical stuff to survive. You can get a lot of good advice from people on this forum about every aspect of boating. However it will be you who will be left holding the tiller so buy a few books, see a lot of boats and then you will be able to decide for yourself.

Jon