Thumb Lineing

ditchcrawler

Featured Posts

When we were last out at the top of he Buckby flight the unmistakable sound of a Bolinder came by so decided to walk a short way down the flight with them. What I received in return was a demonstration of Thumb Lining. I have never tried videoing with may camera before let alone editing and uploading but here is the result.

Edited by ditchcrawler

When we were last out at the top of he Buckby flight the unmistakable sound of a Bolinder came by so decided to walk a short way down the flight with them. What I received in return was a demonstration of Thumb Lining. I have never tried videoing with may camera before let alone editing and uploading but here is the result.

Good video and sound.Yep it's clever that if you have room to reverse.

Hmm, it looks like the opposite gate is opened with ease, and quicker, by hand. :rolleyes:

Still , a usefull trick if the lock won't empty the last bit, due to leaking gates.

Probably was, but its a long way round to open the second gate and then all the way back to close it.

Hmm, it looks like the opposite gate is opened with ease, and quicker, by hand. :rolleyes:

Still , a usefull trick if the lock won't empty the last bit, due to leaking gates.

I hope not.....

It is not a technique to try unless the gate will open as it normally should - IMO it would be unwise to put a lot more force on the handrails than are needed for the basic operation....

Probably was, but its a long way round to open the second gate and then all the way back to close it.