Electrical problem

Featured Posts

My water pump packed in this morning. I'm no electrical expert but I think I've ruled some things out but there again, I'm still baffled.

First I checked the glass fuse in the fuseboard. It looked OK but I changed it anyway. Next I hooked up some bits of wire from an old battery to the water pump. The pump worked. Next I tried to check the fuseboard switch. I didn't really know how to do this but by using dc voltage and continuity on my meter I established that it behaves in the same way as the other switches, so I assume it's OK.

The next bit is what baffles me. I removed the wires from the water pump and checked them with my meter on dc volts. If I switch off the switch on the fuseboard there's little or no reading, just varying mv (millivolts perhaps?).  If I move the fuseboard switch to 'on' I get a varying voltage between 2.5 and 3. My leisure battery is more or less fully charged, sitting at around 14.6v with solar going into it. 

Does anyone have any idea what might be going on here?

1 minute ago, rusty69 said:

You have a high resistance between your battery and your meter.

Or

Your meter has flat batteries /is knackered/on wrong setting. 

OR

between your meter batteries (just to avoid confusion) on the negative. I have known a number of times where a busbar screw on the distribution board has worked loose a d given this sort of reading.

1 minute ago, The Welsh Cruiser said:

So there's high resistance somewhere between the battery and the pump from what you say. What kind of things might result in this

Loose or dirty connections on switches, fuse holders, batteries, connectors, or bus bar. 

As Tony said above. 

If you have a supply switch on the fuse board to the pump, try briskly switching it on and off a few times.  If that does nothing with the switch off measure the volts across the back of the switch, it should be about 12v.  Then turn on the switch and measure it again, should be about zero.  Is it?