rustproofing engine bilges and inside of hull

squarelips

Featured Posts

Hi everyone-

Looking for some advise/ pointers on rustproofing the inside of the hull of my boat.

We have quite a lot of rust under the engine and bilges and there is water under the floor boards I want to clean it all out treat the rust thats there and black it! just want some advice on what materials you use/recomend and any other tips etc.

I was going to do this:

dry all the water out

scrub with wire brush

paint with VACTAN

once dry paint with two coats of red oxide

im not very good with materials and stuff and wanted to check these were the right things to be doing/using. I've heard mixed things about VACTAN but a guy at a boat yard recomended it to us. Will it be okay to apply red oxide onto it once its dry or is there something else that should go between them?

is there anything that should be painted over the red oxide?????

thank you for any and all your help. Always found this forum AMAZING for helping me out as a new boater! thank you thank you thank you

I have just bought some Vatcan via ebay. I found it the best way to buy.

I see you are in the London area. Proformance Chemicals who make Vatcan are in Belvedere. i was going to call in on my way to Maidstone tomorrow but sadly i could'nt save the £8 postage as they are not open weekends. I rang them and they were extremely helpful and sympathic about the postage cost. Royal Mail have changed their postage costs and sizes.

I wanted to buy some Danboline to paint the ingin 'ole but have opted for Bilge Paint from Midland Chandlers (Their own label). I guess to get what you pay for. if affordable buy Daboline.

Martyn

I love Vactan ... it is my friend ... some small rusty patches on the cabin roof were touched up with it 2.5 years ago and are still looking inert