Nauticus 27 runs all over the show..

konstantine

Featured Posts

Hey there, I'm new to Canal World but it certainly seems the place to be! Basically I'm in a pickle with a GRP Nauticus 27 with the Z drive/1100 Watermota power unit.

When driving on a clear, open section of canal, operating the boat is nothing short of stressful. She will bounce left, right, left, right and all the while the helmsman can do little more than counteract this at the wheel, in turn the entire journey is spent corrective steering and if I'm to look away for a second, she's heading for the towpath. On the contrary, a few friends and I took her out last week whilst in a rather cold spell! - A complete sheet of ice had covered the waterway. The 1/4" of ice however was enough to keep the boat in a straight line and stable for the entire 8 mile journey and for the first time in years, it was actually a pleasure to navigate the boat.

My question is this. Why on earth does the boat handle like a shopping trolley? I have heard conflicting rumours about where to ballast the boat to try and aid this but I'd like to know a little bit more about it. I've put some old concrete blocks under the hull at the front of the boat and it seems to make little to no difference, but with friends sat at the front it's certainly easier to drive.

Is the answer to place more ballast in the hull? Or could it be alignment issues in the drive unit?..

Help, please! :lol:

Hey there, I'm new to Canal World but it certainly seems the place to be! Basically I'm in a pickle with a GRP Nauticus 27 with the Z drive/1100 Watermota power unit.