Bmc 1.8

Featured Posts

I'm no expert but I'd say wrong gauge, as a BMC 1.8 will probably produce 30 or 40PSI oil pressure when running.

Others will confirm this I suspect.

I'd suggest a gauge that goes up to 60PSI at least. 

l normal running I would expect the pressure on a BMC 1.8 in good order to be a fair bit higher than 20 psi - it could easily be twice that.

So I can't see how that gauge can be right for this engine, if it only has indicated pressure up to 20 psi.

3 hours ago, alan_fincher said:

l normal running I would expect the pressure on a BMC 1.8 in good order to be a fair bit higher than 20 psi - it could easily be twice that.

So I can't see how that gauge can be right for this engine, if it only has indicated pressure up to 20 psi.

Hey I just said that, one post before yours!

On 09/06/2024 at 17:08, MtB said:

I'm no expert but I'd say wrong gauge, as a BMC 1.8 will probably produce 30 or 40PSI oil pressure when running.

I agree.

But I'm curious what engine Lancing Marine would have supplied with a maximum oil pressure of 20psi which this gauge was intended for.

What pressure does your gearbox reach?

I am wondering whether they have simply been swapped around at some point?

Alec

9 minutes ago, agg221 said:

What pressure does your gearbox reach?

I am wondering whether they have simply been swapped around at some point?

Alec

Before we can look up data to check that, we need to know the gearbox make and possibly model. If it has a pressure gauge, it will be hydraulic, so probably PRM or Velvetdrive. If it was a 1.5 I would add TMP, but that is an older box design.

2 minutes ago, Tony Brooks said:

Before we can look up data to check that, we need to know the gearbox make and possibly model. If it has a pressure gauge, it will be hydraulic, so probably PRM or Velvetdrive. If it was a 1.5 I would add TMP, but that is an older box design.