Tiller

Mondo99

Featured Posts

New narrowboat owner. 
I have a 55ft narrowboat, I bought this 3 years ago, it was built in 2003 but has never been in the water, I am now nearing completion, the boat did not come with a tiller so I need to fit one. What it does have is a rudder and a 40mm bearing/bush assembly that bolts onto the stern of the boat. The rudder has had a 40mm ID square tube welded into the top of the rudder, is approximately 100mm deep and protrudes above the rudder about 10mm. As an engineer I prefer to do all the work on the boat myself, I do however have some questions:

Do I need to use solid bar or will thick wall tube be up to the job, I can get some 40mm x 3.25 tubing.

I have seen on other narrowboats there is normally a joint just above the bearing, is there any reason why I cannot have a one piece tiller.

My thoughts at the moment are to make the tiller out of the thick wall tube. Where it enters the square tube on the rudder I could sleeve it internally with solid bar, about 200mm and then bolt the solid bar with 2 x 12mm SS bolts to the square tube to allow me to fit and remove the tiller. Will this set up be strong enough? 

Do I need to use solid bar where it enters the rudder, would thick wall tube on its own be strong enough, would sleeve inside the tube. 

Is it normal practice to fit a secondary bush close to where the tiller enters the rudder?

With this set up there is nothing to stop the rudder lifting up out of its lower pivot point, I can make something to stop this but what method is normally used. 
Question 2

The engine I fitted to this boat was a very good Yanmar 3YM30 (30hp) marine engine that I already had, I am now not sure wether this will be powerful enough.

Any advise on the above greatly appreciated. 

The reason for having it in two parts is to be able to remove the tiller (Z iron, ramshead, swan neck there are different names) so that the bearing can be replaced or rudder removed for other reasons.