House boat build

NeilG

Featured Posts

Hello everyone. New member here at the initial planning planning stage of an ambitious house boat build. I am new to the world of boating, never mind building one, but I would be very grateful to be able to talk to people with experience who can help me with advice to get my dream off the ground. 

• Greenie 1

5 minutes ago, NeilG said:

Hello everyone. New member here at the initial planning planning stage of an ambitious house boat build. I am new to the world of boating, never mind building one, but I would be very grateful to be able to talk to people with experience who can help me with advice to get my dream off the ground. 

Hi Neil and welcome to the forum :)

There are loads of people on here with boating and boat building experience so you've come to the right place. Can you tell us a little bit about the plans that you have and perhaps what your end goal is, that will give people a bit more to work with. 

Do you mean a House Boat as per  the normal definition or a boat to live on? A house boat normally has no means of propulsion and is kept permanently moored at one place, often with some/all services connected. 

Ah, I see you probably do mean House Boat and not a boat to live on so be aware moorings in the UK are almost certainly to be as common as rocking horse dung and if you find one will cost several/many thousands of pounds mooring fees each year plus council tax.

I was thinking to have propulsion in the form of a big outboard engine. Apologies that my initial post was vague. I am at the very early stages of seeing if this is a viable option for me, so I still have a lot to figure out. Something like this picture is like the initial vision for what style I am thinking about.

58563-8848273.jpg

2 minutes ago, NeilG said:

Something like this picture is like the initial vision for what style I am thinking about.