voltage reg for LED lights?

Featured Posts

I recently installed new lighting in my nb, I have fitted Lumo downlighters which are fantastic. I queried their operating voltage with the manufacturer and they are rated for up to 15 volts. However while running the engine a couple of days ago with the lights on one of them packed up, on taking the light out the casing had distorted slightly, and appears to have blown. The charging voltage never exceeds 14 volts so whats the problem? Do I need a voltage regulator? if so what sort would I need?

thanks for any advice!

From what I have read - baring in mind LED technology is advancing extremily fast and i'm not an expert - LED's don't like fluctuating voltages especially the older designs that do not have in built regulators.

Personally fitting a regulator into the main lighting circuit has got to be beneficial as even if your lights appear to be happy on a unregulated supply they do say it takes years off their design life.

Edited by bag 'o' bones

I have been ading LEDs to the boat for over a year now - some were "fixed 12 volt" ones, some are "9 to 30 volts" and some even claim they are "12 volts a.c." ! ( they do work either way round though so perhaps they have a bridge rectifier in the first part of their circuit).

Whatever, I have 5 lighting circuits on the boat and each is protected with a circuit breaker. As all are now replaced with LEDs, I have a regulator on each circuit except one ( which still has halogens and is operated via a dimmer). I haven't had any blow yet, but I rarely have the lights on at the same time as the engine, although that will be likely in the winter months. Also, with shore power, the Victron 12/3000/120/16 gets the battery voltage up to about 14.4, so the LEDS will see that voltage if they are switched on when on shore power, if they didn't have a regulator in circuit before them.