From 'Wannabe' to 'Gonnabe'!

Marshian

Featured Posts

Hi All

I've lurked on this site quite often, and learned a great deal by doing so - thanks for thatsmile.png. Not registered or posted before, 'cos I thought that too many 'wannabes' would devalue the forum. My circumstances have now allowed me to get serious, so I'm actively in pursuit of a narrowboat (or, as we'd say around my way, narrerbote).

I'm after a small starter boat, 35' to 40' range (but maybe up to 45'?). Smaller suits because I've no experience of narrowboats, and I'll be mainly solo. It's for leisure use, hopefully long-term during the season. I've read the views that new enthusiasts can quickly 'outgrow' a smaller n/b, but I'll deal with that as and when...

I do have some experience of boats and canals. I've had a couple of small outboard cruisers - one on the Broads in the 80s, and one on the T&M in the 90s. The first lock I had to pass en route to the Trent was Stenson, which I gather is one of the deeper ones.

I have a clear idea about keeping and using my n/b, but I'll call a halt to this missive here - you don't want to read an essay! I came across a scam whilst looking at sale ads, which I'll post in General Boating. Apart from that, I'll look forward to chatting with you soonsmile.png

Cheers,

Chris

Cheers Heffalump cheers.gif Yes, I'm trying to temper excitement with a bit of common sense. I paid a little attention in the 'not being too stupid' lessons! Here's my post about the scam: http://www.canalworld.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=79389

I have formulated my boating strategy (if I can put it in those terms). First, buy the right boat. Then, keep it on the Middle Levels, 'cos:

No need to license the boat out of season

Cheaper moorings than the main system - London moorings are too expensive, and the plan is to get out of the city!

I'm in NE London, so quick access to the M11 gets me to and from the boat